The Imaginary Heroine

searching for the plot

Twilight and Transvestite Comedians? March 15, 2010

Filed under: Books — imaginaryheroine @ 6:00 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The little nudge in the last post about vampiric imagery in Jesus’ Last Supper speech made me think of this bit by Eddie Izzard.

Around 1:30 Jesus is telling God (as portrayed by James Mason as portrayed by Eddie Izzard) about his work setting up the new religion:

“And then I did the last supper, and I gave them some wine and I said, drink this wine – it is my blood.”

“You said what?” exclaims God.

“I said, drink this wine it is my blood. I was trying to make it a ceremony,” explains Jesus.

“But that’s vampirism! Vampiric thing, drink my blood. You’ve got Pagan things right there on day one of the new religion!”

“Oh, sorry,” says Jesus, sheepishly.

“Why didn’t you say, drink this wine it is a Merlot?” suggests God.

“Oh, yeah.”

 

Leave a Reply

