The Imaginary Heroine

searching for the plot

The 100 Book Challenge March 17, 2010

Filed under: Books,theImaginaryHeroine — imaginaryheroine @ 6:00 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Most of the self-helpy philosophies out there include something about setting small, manageable goals in order to achieve tasty little nuggets of success that encourage you to keep going.

I’ve been searching around for some achievable goals, but mostly I keep getting stuck on things like “figure out how to make ends meet*” and “get some kind of quasi-fulfilling career thingy going” and “find out the meaning of life, the universe, and everything” and also “stop being so depressed and/or depressing.”

I’m working on A and B. I’m not so sure C is possible, but I feel like it’s one of those “the longing is the answer” things.

D has always been a difficult one for me. I’m definitely a type-A, glass-half-empty, all-or-nothing kind of girl. Turns out this may mean I have a more realistic view of the world, but that doesn’t mean it’s a great way to be. Actually it’s kind of downer to have numerous books and news articles tell me that “yup, things are probably about as bad as you imagine they are. Have a nice day!”

In the spirit of getting a little bit of “optimist delusion” going, I decided to find some kind of hobby to keep me occupied. Thus this blog was born. Which kind of bled into my next great idea:

I’m going to try to read 100 books this year.

In my junior high and high school heyday I probably read far more than that. In college I probably read significantly fewer. But, I realized that as of now, I’m a little less than 1/4 of the way through the year and I’m already reading book number 26.

Good gad! Maybe I am capable of completing some tiny goals and getting my own tasty success nuggets! I already feel some delusional optimism tingling somewhere in my toes…

So, in order to keep my juices fired [holy mixed metaphor, Batman!] for the 100 Book Challenge, I’ve included a widget on the right side bar documenting my progress.

What counts towards the 100 Book Challenge?

I’m going to be kind of fluid on this issue of what constitutes a book, since I’ve recently started being interested in things like 1000 page fan fiction masterpieces and academic papers as long as normal books.

However, I can’t count any book more than once. For instance, I read A New Dawn straight through in an afternoon, but I had to go back to each essay and reread one or two more times for analysis purposes. The whole project counts as one book.

That, my friends, is my mission.

Wish me luck!

*When I was little I thought this phrase was “make ends meat” and was some kind of recipe. “Ends meat,” I speculated, was  something akin to meat loaf, which I abominate to this day. I even hate its more aristocratic cousin, Pâté. Oddly fitting, since no one I know likes having to make ends meet either…

 

One Response to “The 100 Book Challenge”

  1. […] Again, I rely on “the longing is the answer” for comfort. […]


Leave a Reply

