The Imaginary Heroine

searching for the plot

Why Summit? Why?! April 27, 2010

Fug via TresSugar

Apparently they’ve released a replica of Bella’s engagement ring. It’s available in faux version for $35 and a version with real diamonds for $1,979.

I blushingly admit that I’ve amassed a not inconsiderable amount of Twilight related merch. I may or may not frequently sport purple ruffled sweats from Aerie or a cadet blue B.B. Dakota jacket.  So, clearly I have no problem with people who want to have fun with movie memorabilia. If you have lots of disposable income and truly want a Cullen engagement ring, more power to you.

My main issue is the design of this ring. It is HIDEOUS. As some commenters have noted, it looks like a bug’s eye.

Wasn’t this supposed to be Edward’s mother’s ring? If you consider Edward died at 17 in 1918 and the typical short time window between marriage and first child at the time, his parents were probably married in the late 1890s. Shouldn’t the ring be Victorian style jewelry? This doesn’t look anything like what should have been around in Victorian America.

I mean, for cripes sake! Look how flipping gorgeous these Victorian rings are!

Why, Summit?! Why did you make the movie ring the fugliest ring ever? Are you just trying to piss off Twilight fans?

UPDATE:

So, here’s the description of the ring from the book:

“The face was a long oval, set with slanting rows of glittering round stones. The band was gold — delicate and narrow. The gold made a fragile web around the diamonds.”

So, I suppose the movie ring somewhat matches the book description. But it is still hideous. So there.

UPDATE2:

Other suggestions for Bella’s ring

I like the first one better, but I think the second one matches the description more. Either one is preferable to the monster we’re promised in June.

Update3:

Oddly, the artist rendering is by the same company that is producing the replicas. The final products don’t seem to match the drawing very well. The inset “web” is more delicate and there’s scalloped edging in the drawing that are nowhere in evidence on the real rings.

Unfortunately, the fug replica rings are officially authorized by Stephenie Meyer herself. Maybe she authorized the drawing and not the rings? I don’t know.

Yikes. I mean, you can’t argue with the author. If that’s what she says the ring looks like, that’s what it looks like. I’m not keen on the canon description, the presumably approved prototype rendering, or the final authorized replicas.

I’m going to go cry in the corner now.

Somewhere in the world, someone is writing the shortest alternate universe Twilight fan fiction ever which says something to the effect that Elizabeth Masen’s ring was lovely and understated with a single stone and delicate Art Nouveau scroll work on the band.

 

7 Responses to “Why Summit? Why?!”

  1. Ana Says:

    You are so right!

    Those models are a thousand times better than that fugly ring. Sometimes I think they do believe we are idiots that would buy anything twilight related no matter how retarded it is…*mad*

    • I mean, beyond the merchandising, I’m so bummed that this is going to be at the center of a major scene in the movie. You can correct me if I’m wrong, but in the book Bella is pretty enchanted by the ring and its history. I’m imagining poor KStew trying to stammer over how lovely the ring is while looking at something that would be at home on the right index finger of a 70’s Stepford wife while she stirred fondue.

      Nothing against the 70s, wives, or fondue, but it’s not really what I pictured for Edward and Bella.

  2. edwardporsiempre Says:

    Me neither, but I never wanted Rachelle being replaced either…I guess we will just have to endure it *sigh*

    • It’s a bummer, because I think Bryce Dallas Howard will probably be fine and all. But what on earth was the point of changing LeFevre when she had one more movie to go? It’s a blip in suspension of disbelief that didn’t need to be there.

  3. Mary K Says:

    This ring is what I thought it should look more like. I love this style. http://www.etsy.com/listing/45773204/her-engagement-ring-in-solid-sterling

  4. Kira Deems Says:

    You are so right! The ring they picked for the movies is so hideous. I like the first ring you picked out, but your right, the second one does fit the descrition better.


Leave a Reply

